旧金山韧性城市设计挑战赛

旧金山是世界上最迷人也是最脆弱的滨海城市之一。根据预测,到2100年旧金山湾区的海平面上升值将高达66英寸,即168厘米。

如果我们能够通过一系列智慧的敏感性设计解决方案重新书写城市的未来,会怎么样?

以此为目标,我们组建了全球设计团队参加韧性城市设计挑战赛。该比赛让社区和政府官员与当地及国内外的专家共同合作应对气候变化和生态灾害对湾区带来的挑战。

韧性城市设计挑战赛与洛克菲勒基金会的“100个韧性城市”网络项目相关,该项目旨在增强21世纪的城市韧性。

Hassell+联合体与另外9家设计团队从来自9个国家的50家参赛团队中脱颖而出,成功入围。我们的联合体团队包括来自澳大利亚、荷兰和旧金山湾区的专家,我们了解滨海设计、滨海生活以及滨海场所对实现各个社区的紧密联系的巨大潜力。

从山脊线到海岸线,再通过优化的轮渡网络跨越海湾,我们的方案以绿色空间、潺潺溪流和重获活力的商业街组成的网络为特色,让人群聚集、构建联系并促进水管理。

Hassell+将第一阶段的研究理念运用到了项目第二阶段(协同设计阶段)中旧金山的特定城市和圣马特奥县的设计工作中。

我们齐心协力为旧金山打造了富有创造力且基于实证的机遇,以强化滨海区和各个社区的韧性。

结果如何?我们打造了活力和可达性更强的供日常使用的公共场所,也是有助于城市长期应对环境和应急需求的关键场所。

客户

韧性城市设计挑战赛

地点

美国旧金山

现状

非建成

时间

2017

规模

500 英里 / 800公里海岸线

协作方

Hassell+ (Hassell, MVRDV, Deltares, Goudappel, Lotus Water, Civic Edge, Idyllist, Hatch, Page & Turnbull)

设计团队

Richard Mullane、David Tickle、Chris Kelly、Ben Li、张楚晗、蔡宽洲、Wenrui Cui、Xi Wenyi、赵晓丽

分享至

微博    Twitter    Facebook

海岸修复项目的面积等同于两万三千个足球场那么大。

>100 超过100个新建或重建的公共空间
>30 超过30条连接社区和湾区目的地的廊道
>10 超过10个湾区重要区域性公共空间

Hassell+团队对此项目都充满激情,我们对滨海及滨海生活项目具有独到的洞见,因此我们被韧性城市设计挑战赛所吸引。

来自澳大利亚的Hassell和荷兰的Deltares和Goudappel对以研究为导向的设计具有敏锐的理解,此类设计可以帮助滨海社区释放社会、文化、经济和生态潜力。

湾区经验丰富的合作伙伴Lotus Water、Page & Turnbull、Hatch、Idyllist、Brown & Caldwell为项目增添了本地化经验和人脉,从而帮助我们形成了该项目的整体设计手法。

我们与这些协作方拥有多年的研究、倾听和与社区互动的经验,并共同开展设计、原型构建和交付综合解决方案。

我们的跨专业设计技能涵盖建成环境的设计、水文工程、系统和产品设计、历史遗产评估和社区参与。我们的核心实力集中在以下三个方面:

  • 设计和场所
  • 水文和生态
  • 社会影响和科技

当灾难来临时,城市是否具备足够的韧性来应对的关键在于社区是否有能力在城市环境中应对灾难,主要的基建设施是否能提供足够的支持。这也是我们设计团队的设计重点,在韧性城市设计协作研究阶段,关注建立优质公共空间和更强健的社区。

我们提出“聚拢和联通”作为设计回应,我们从旧金山地区所遭受自然灾害的历史中获得启发,1906年美国历史中死亡人数最多的旧金山地震和前几年的加州北部山火中,人们是如何使用公共空间的。

从历史上以及现在人们使用公共空间的习惯和方式,我们在三个社区:East Oakland、Redwood City和南旧金山提出了由公园和公共空间组成的网络,同时连接人们和水岸 — 并且不仅在灾难发生时才起作用,这些公园和公共空间也能为人们的日常生活所用。

最终,该方案帮助我们这支国际设计团队创造出一个“工具箱”,我们可以将其应用至南旧金山的指定地块 — 而南旧金山也是该项目第二阶段 — 协作设计阶段的设计范围。

我们使用cookies以提供更好的浏览体验。点击此处获得更多相关信息。

Resilient by Design

San Francisco is one of the world’s most captivating waterfront cities. It also happens to be one of the most vulnerable – with the Bay Area predicted to confront sea level rises of up to 66 inches/168 centimetres by the year 2100.

What if we could re-write the city’s future through a series of smart, sensitive design solutions?

We formed a global design collective with exactly that ambition for the Resilient by Design Bay Area Challenge – a project that has the community and public officials working with local, national and international experts on the challenges of climate change and ecological disaster around the bay.

The program is tied to The Rockefeller Foundation’s 100 Resilient Cities network that aims to strengthen cities for the 21stcentury.

The HASSELL+ collective was one of 10 design teams selected from a list of more than 50 contenders hailing from nine different countries. Our team – from Australia, the Netherlands and the Bay Area – understands designing for water, living with water and the immense potential waterfront places have for well-connected communities.

Our proposal features a network of green spaces, creeks and revived high streets serving as points of collection, connection and water management – from the ridgeline to the shoreline and across the bay via an enhanced ferry network.

HASSELL+ applied these Stage 1 research concepts to specific sites in South San Francisco and San Mateo County for the second stage of the project – the Collaborative Design Phase.

Together, this work gives San Francisco a range of creative, evidence-based opportunities for strengthening their waterfronts and communities.

The result? More vibrant, accessible public places for everyday use – and vital spaces for the city’s long-term environmental and emergency needs.

Client

Resilient by Design Bay Area Challenge

Location

San Francisco, US

Status

Unbuilt

Year

2017

Scale

500 miles / 800 kilometres of shoreline

Collaborators

Hassell+ (Hassell, MVRDV, Deltares, Goudappel, Lotus Water, Civic Edge, Idyllist, Hatch, Page & Turnbull)

Design team

Richard Mullane, David Tickle, Chris Kelly, Ben Li, Chuhan Zhang, Hinok Cai, Wenrui Cui, Xi Wenyi, Xiaoli Zhao

The potential shoreline restoration projects equal 23,000 football fields in area.

Hassell+ was drawn to the Resilient by Design challenge because of our shared passion and unique insight into designing for water and living with water.

Hassell, originating from Australia, and Deltares + Goudappel, based in the Netherlands, share an acute understanding of the social, cultural, economic and ecological potential research-led design can unlock for waterfront communities.

Bay Area partners – Lotus Water + Page & Turnbull + Hatch + Idyllist + Brown & Caldwell – added invaluable local knowledge and connections that shaped the team’s overall approach to the project.

Together, we have years of experience researching, listening and engaging with communities, and designing, prototyping and delivering integrated solutions.

Our interdisciplinary skills range from the design of the built environment to hydrology engineering, systems and product design, heritage assessment and community engagement. But our core strength is in three disciplines / areas of focus:

  • Design & Places
  • Hydrology & Ecology
  • Social Impact & Technology

Resilience to disaster is as much about how communities are able to organise themselves in urban areas as it is about major infrastructure. That’s why our team focused on establishing quality public spaces and stronger communities during the collaborative research phase of Resilient by Design.

Our 'Collect and Connect' response was inspired by the way people in the region used open spaces during both the 1906 San Francisco earthquake – one of the deadliest in US history – and more recent, devastating Northern California wildfires.

Taking our cue from these historic and current patterns of use, we proposed a new network of parklands and public spaces to connect and collect people and water – both before and during times of disaster – within three communities: East Oakland, Redwood City and South San Francisco.

This ultimately helped our international team create a ‘tool kit’ we could apply to proposed sites in South San Francisco for the project’s second phase – collaborative design.

>100 new and rejuvenated public spaces overall
>30 corridors connecting communities to bayside destinations
>10 significant regional public spaces on the bay

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more.