熊猫、人类与自然三者相连

分享至

微博 Twitter Facebook

总体规划如何通过为“伞护种”设计来促进生物多样性。

作者及插图:Chris Kelly

地球上尚存物种的数量众说纷纭。根据夏威夷大学的统计,物种估测总数为870,而截止到现在记录在册的只有170万。奇妙的生物多样性对于生态系统的稳定和人类的存续至关重要。

由于人类活动对地球的影响,我们当前的生存环境存在严重的不确定性。生物灭绝率远高于我们的想象,物种灭绝还可能不断加速,直至形成第六次大灭绝。近期一份公认为同类文件中内容最全面的联合国报告指出,今后几十年内将有一百万个物种面临灭绝的威胁。这一声明造成的影响不可估量。

科学界认为地球上共有870万种生物,而截至到现在记录在册的只有170万。今年联合国警告称其中1百万种生物可能在几十年内灭绝。

逆转生物多样性危机

报告强调了陆地和河流生态系统中生物多样性损失的主要原因,包括农业、林业与城市化。而不可持续的生产消费、人口的集中、贸易、技术进步与管理不当等因素,无论规模大小,都足以令这个问题雪上加霜。

促进生物多样性的关键在于保护生态系统及它们所在的区域。正如生物学家Ken Thompson在他的著作《我们需要熊猫吗》中所述,在保护自然区的时候,我们也保护了生物多样性。

熊猫之都总体规划

作为城市设计师,我们有机会挑战城市开发的现状,为特定的问题带去积极的变化。Hassell最近为中国西南名城成都打造的总体规划获奖方案便是范例。位于四川省的这座城市是全球最为重要的连续大熊猫自然栖息地。

设计目标是通过控制过度开发和控制对自然栖息地的侵占来支持大熊猫的保护。我们的设计方案完整保留了敏感区域以待合理的经济开发。另一目标是增强公众对保护问题的意识。我们围绕大熊猫在四川的标志性地位,打造成都的城市品牌,促进旅游业的发展。

我们的设计方案围绕位于成都的三大基地展开:栖息地保护区(都江堰)、中环社区整合区(北湖)和城东的未来发展区(龙泉山)。

总体规划包括三大基地:栖息地保护区、中环社区整合区和未来发展区

界定旗舰种

大熊猫是生物保护领域的伞护种。伞护种这一保护策略聚焦于某一物种的栖息地的保护,与此同时同一生态系统中的其他物种也受到了相应的保护。

大熊猫的栖息地与许多中国特有物种重叠。96%的栖息地与特有种的集中分布区重合。其中生活着70%的中国特有森林哺乳动物、70%的森林鸟类和31%的两栖动物。

这些物种自身的保护可能很难吸引公众或政府注意。大熊猫的全球知名度有助于吸引资金,从而得以保护这些共存物种以及栖息地。

这一策略不无挑战。选择合适的伞护种及其栖息地是成功的关键。

这并不像看上去那么简单,生态学中的一切都是如此。”

  • John Wiens(曾任科罗拉多州立大学生态学者)

把握平衡也很重要。提升公众的物种保护意识的同时,公众的兴趣会得到提升,游客的数量也会增加。“游客们并不认为自己会影响熊猫栖息地,但其实每个游客都会产生某些影响,”密歇根州立大学的刘博士说:“他们来旅游,来度暑假,这刺激了当地经济,但也会增加当地自然资源的消耗。”

当地特有的花卉植物与动物群。

保护、科普和政府鼓励措施构成的框架

考虑到这些相互冲突的要求,我们定义了设计思维与项目目标相匹配的框架。

框架将熊猫的保护、周边栖息地的修复、政府激励以及子孙后代的监管人身份相结合。

我们将框架的宗旨融汇为简单而有力的一句话:寻迹熊猫 — — 探索、发现、逐梦。我们用种种策略解锁每个关键基地的潜力,从而促进保护、科普与宣传。

总体规划框架

都江堰市坐落于成都西面,市区附近的都江堰古代水利工程建于公元前256年前后,是联合国教科文组织世界遗产。这片地区是大熊猫和其他中国特有物种的主要自然栖息地。这里也是圈养大熊猫的自然放归地,以恢复生存本能。

我们了解这一环境的敏感,因此在整片基地限制旅游和出入活动。宗旨是保护栖息地,限制人类活动。允许少量游客以探险形式进入,以符合栖息地保护的要求。我们对目标游客群体进行细分,以最适合基地的方式发展旅游业,避免保护区的过度拥挤与资源消耗。

第二处基地北湖片区位于市中心附近,发展机遇与都江堰有很大区别。由于距当地社区很近,北湖是吸引居民关注了解当地环保问题的理想基地。我们精心设计的参观路线展示了当地植物与文化。

在栖息区域的设计过程中,著名的动物学家John Coe给予了建议。我们热切希望重塑这些动物在参观者心中的地位。在设计围场高度时,我们特意使动物平于或高于人的视线,以颠覆“人类主宰自然”这一理念。

位于城东的最后一处基地是门户片区。它将与未来的机场相连,成为成都面向世界的大门。

我们借这片基地展示敏感区域的开发如何通过整合蓝绿系统和采取框架方案来恢复周边环境与景观。基地融汇了多个生态要素和愿景元素,为成都打造绿色未来。

多管齐下的全面方案

我们旨在通过本项目明确而有序地增加公众对这些全球问题的了解与认知。我们利用了每片基地的本土特色价值,并使这些价值符合环保、科普和政治激励的具体目标。

无论是设计栖息保护区,定制旅游路线,还是辅助城市整体定位与品牌宣传,为大熊猫保护募款以恢复与保护关键栖息地。

Hassell致力于对抗气候变化这个当前最严重的全球问题。从政府到个人层面的全球思维和集体行动是解决问题的基础。

  • Chris Kelly是我们悉尼事务所及上海事务所的城市设计主管。

我们使用cookies以提供更好的浏览体验。点击此处获得更多相关信息。

Connecting pandas, people and nature

Share

Twitter    Facebook

How master planning can support biodiversity by designing for umbrella species’.

Text and illustrations by Chris Kelly

Estimates vary on the number of species currently present on Earth. But a census conducted by Hawaii University concluded it to be 8.7 million species, although only 1.7 million are so far recorded. This incredible diversity is essential for a stable ecosystem and our continued existence on this planet. 

We exist in a period of significant environmental uncertainty caused by humankind’s impact on the planet. The current rate of extinction is much higher than previously thought and may be accelerating toward what’s called the sixth mass extinction. A recent UN report, regarded to be the most comprehensive of its kind, says 1 million species are threatened with extinction within decades. It’s hard to fathom the impact of this statement. 

Scientists believe there are 8.7M distinct species on earth, although only 1.7M are so far recorded. This year, the UN warned that 1M of these could be extinct within decades.

REVERSING THE BIODIVERSITY CRISIS

The report highlights the leading causes of biodiversity loss in land-based ecosystems and rivers – agriculture, forestry and urbanisation. Compounding these are unsustainable consumption and production, concentrated human populations, trade and technological advances, and governance across a range of scales.

For biodiversity, it’s critical to protect ecosystems and the large areas they occupy. As biologist Ken Thompson proposes in Do We Need Pandas?’ if we conserve natural areas, we also protect biodiversity.

THE PANDA LAND MASTER PLAN

As urban designers, we can challenge the status quo of urban development to create positive change on specific issues. Hassell did this in a recent competition-winning master plan for the western Chinese city of Chengdu. The Sichuan Province location forms the world’s most significant contiguous area of panda habitat.

We looked to support the giant panda’s conservation by controlling over-development and encroachment of its natural habitats. Our design left sensitive areas intact for responsible economic development. It also aimed to increase public awareness of conservation issues. We examined the giant panda’s broader role in Chengdu as an icon to promote the city’s brand identity and tourism. 

Our plan covers three sites – a habitat reserve area (Dujiangyan), a middle ring community area (Beihu), and a future growth area to the city’s east (Longquan Mountain).

The master plan covers three sites: a habitat reserve area, a middle ring community area and a future growth area.

DEFININGFLAGSHIP SPECIES

The giant panda is what conservationists term an umbrella species. This refers to a conservation strategy that focuses on protecting the habitat of one species to protect many others in the same ecosystem.

The giant panda’s habitat areas overlap with many other endemic species within China. Over 96 per cent of the giant panda’s habitat overlaps with the endemic centres. This includes 70 per cent of China’s forest mammals, 70 per cent of forest birds and 31 per cent of forest amphibians.

These species might not otherwise get the public or political attention to support their conservation. The giant panda’s global profile helps raise funds to protect these co-occurring species and habitats.

This strategy is not without its challenges. Picking the right umbrella species and the area they inhabit is critical for the approach to be successful.

Like all things in ecology, it’s not as simple as it looks.”

John Wiens, former ecologist at Colorado State University

It’s also a balancing act. When you increase awareness, you also build interest and drive tourist numbers. Tourists don’t think they have an impact on panda habitat, but each visitor has some impact,” says Dr Liu of Michigan State University. They come, they take their summer vacations there and stimulate the local economy, but this in turn uses more local natural resources.”

The site’s endemic flora and fauna.

A FRAMEWORK FOR CONSERVATION, EDUCATION AND POLITICAL INCENTIVE

Considering these competing requirements, we defined a framework to align our thinking with the project’s aspirations.

We connected the panda’s conservation, surrounding habitat restoration, political incentives and the custodianship of future generations.

We unified the framework’s principles into a simple but powerful message: The Panda Trail – Explore, Discover and Dream. We applied strategies to unlock the potential of each of the three key sites to contribute to conservation, education and awareness.

MASTER PLAN FRAMEWORK

Dujiangyan is a UNESCO World Heritage Site that sits west of Chengdu. Nearby is an ancient irrigation system constructed around 256 BC. The land is prime natural habitat for the giant panda and other endemic species. It’s also where pandas bred in captivity are released into the natural environment to develop survival instincts. 

Recognising the environment’s sensitivity, we placed restrictions on tourism and movement through the site. Our aim was to safeguard habitat and contain activity. Limited numbers of tourists could be explorers, a message that aligned with habitat preservation. We segmented the target visitor group that would best respond to this site to prevent oversaturating the reserve area.

The second site, Beihu, is near the city centre and contains very different opportunities. Its proximity to local communities and makes it an ideal site to engage and educate people on local conservation issues. We crafted purposeful journeys that showcased local flora and cultural displays. 

Renowned zoological specialist, John Coe, provided advice to support the design of habitat areas. We were keen to reframe the role of these animals in visitor’s minds. We designed the enclosures so that the animals were either level or elevated, to subvert the idea that humans are dominant over nature. 

The final site location to the city’s east is a gateway site. It will connect the future airport as the global front door to Chengdu, showcase awareness raising efforts, and provide political incentive for conservation. 

We used this site as a mechanism to show how sensitive development can occur through the integration of blue and green systems as well as frameworks to restore the surrounding landscapes. This site brought together many ecological aspects and aspirational elements to support the city’s future.

A HOLISTIC APPROACH

Through this project we aimed to create greater awareness and exposure for these global issues, but in a coordinated and targeted way. We leveraged the intrinsic and local values of each site and aligned them to specific objectives of conservation, education and political incentive. 

Whether designing for protected habitat areas, or for curated journeys for tourism, or supporting broader city positioning and identity to help with continued fundraising for the giant pandas and as a consequence support the regeneration and preservation of critical areas of habitat. 

Hassell is committed to working on the biggest global issue of our time – climate change. Solutions rely on global thinking and collective action across a range of scales – from governments to individuals. 

Chris Kelly is an Associate based in our Sydney and Shanghai studios.

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more.