求知的庆典

分享至

微博 Twitter Facebook

不同凡响的校园体验已成为高等教育成功的新标准。

作者:Adam Scott 插画:Sammy Barry

大专院校而今的衡量指标已不止治学传统与出版声誉。因此,继续教育与高等教育当前面临的新挑战集中在打造不同凡响的校园生活体验。

成功的校园能够吸引学生、学者和相关的多方人士,促进他们的参与,并获得他们的终生支持。大学对于相关各方远不仅是获取学位的机制,它是成人礼,是一次壮阔宏大的学习体验,也是一种生活方式。

不幸的是,重新开发校园的价值栈往往与这种以体验为追求的逻辑相悖。与其它领域一样,校园总体规划通常从设计建筑开始,以建筑设计为界规划内部,再考虑这些设计如何为被我们称为“终端用户”的这类人群服务。

这是我钟爱的主题,已喋喋不休讲过多次。这次就不再赘述细节,只为各位打个比方。

正如参加节庆活动不是为了帐篷的尺寸、形态差异和设计,人们选择大学的缘由也不是建筑、软装和千篇一律的历程,而是取决于大学能够提供什么。

我所指的是最为广义的“提供”:课程应囊括学科教学、课外活动和隐含内容等所有领域;校园应容纳并鼓励多样化的生活方式;校园活动规划则应如节庆一般引人入胜,既井然有序又时有惊喜。

以你的方式享受校园生活

请把校园活动规划想像为涵盖一切的巨型实体“指南”,其中既包含每日、每周和每月的固定时间表,也包含一次性活动和种种校园事件的信息。

它的首要功能显然是协助规划日程,但同时也为学生提供了机会。他们可以根据个人兴趣、需求和理想来计划和打造自己的求学体验。

以活动策划的方式来规划校园,意味着身在其中的个体学生得以自己设计求学历程,而不是一切由校园总设计师来规划。

我知道说易行难,但前文提及的节庆不仅是比方,还可以带来启迪。校园和节庆当然有很大不同,前者是长期学习的场所,后者是临时的盛大庆典。

但每当参加活动质量定成败的节庆时,我都会想到校园设计可从节庆举办中借鉴什么。策划节庆的方法先进得多,更适合用于打造未来成功校园所需的体验。

节庆领域的经验

美好生活体验节”是Cerys Matthews 和 Charlie Gladstone的共同创意。他们称这个为期三天的活动为“满是愉悦和探索的周末”。活动体验的关键词是在“美好户外”尽情享受“音乐、美食、书籍、创意和主题活动”。

他们也说到做到,体验节的最后呈现完全符合最初的意向。策划方在长达一年的明智讨论之后才定下活动流程,可谓吊足胃口。在体验节上,有如出发航班信息的巨型公告板最先映入眼帘,上面印着的正是活动流程。虽然包含阵容、活动等内容的流程在网上也可看到,但流程公告板还标志着另一个世界的入口 — — 那完全是一个别开生面的世界。 

在接下来的三天内,活动流程是我们的地图和指南,引领我们进入种种已知和未知的体验。各个景点是临时的聚会场所,我们所选择参加的各项活动则是这场自我定义的欢乐发现之旅的脉络。我们可以翩翩起舞,可以与众人一起呐喊,也可以亲自动手制作弓箭。归根结底,我们在其中相互协作,这才是体验节的真谛。

我并未参与Matthews 和Gladstone的策划。但我愿用全副身家打赌:他们几乎或从来未曾提及“用户体验”和“用户历程”这类词语。在策划中,我们能够尽量吸引与发动人们的参与,能够为他们带来归属感,但我们能够拥有的并非任何他人的而是我们自己的体验,每次体验都是独一无二的。.

策划出色的教育

想想未来的校园。校园规划面对的不是三天的活动,而是三年或更长时间的学习,是否可以在校园中套用美好生活体验节的模版?其实,只需把地点改为大学所在的城市,将体验关键词的列表更新,我们就像策划一场求知的庆典一样开始了校园设计。

这个建议并非玩笑,也不怪异。“求知的庆典”既不失严肃又令人愉悦。别忘了,“活动流程”说明了一切。

未来的校园如果要符合我们的期望,成为有吸引力、生机勃勃而又高效运转的场所,就必须从最具启迪性的校园活动规划起步。

校园应当为学生提供各种机会,如跨学科学习和自定义所学课程的机会,参加全校各院系举办的讲座、研讨课和讲习班的机会,在校园内享受美食、购物、社交娱乐的机会,与教师、同学、行业以及各阶层人士交流互动的机会,在校园中多个地点和以多种形式进行以上所有活动的机会,以激发好奇、促进沟通并鼓励合作。

因此,让我们为未来的校园呼吁:请合理规划校园活动!只有这样,我们的总体规划才能服务于学子们的求学体验,也只有这样,他们才会为学校创造贡献,在校园绽放光彩,并将学校铭记心间。而他们所受的高等教育也将完全符合要求,成为改变人生的美好体验,这种教育以任何标准衡量都是成功的。

我们使用cookies以提供更好的浏览体验。点击此处获得更多相关信息。

Festivals of learning

Share

Twitter Facebook

Extraordinary on-campus experiences are the new measure of higher education success.

By Adam Scott with illustration by Sammy Barry

The metrics for judging colleges and universities today include more than legacy and publishing reputations. As a result, the new challenges for further (or higher) education today centre on making the campus an extraordinary experience. 

A successful campus attracts, involves, and makes lifelong fans of students, academics and a fascinating range of stakeholders. For everyone involved, university is much more than the mechanics of a degree. It’s a coming of age. It’s a magnificent, giant learning experience, and a way of life.

Unfortunately, the value stack for the redevelopment of campuses tends to invert the logic of this quest for experience. As in other sectors, masterplanning typically begins with the design of buildings. It grows the interior out of the architectural constraints of that design. And it thinks about how all this feeds into a category we all call the end user’. 

This is my shtick, and I’ve banged on about it time and again, so I‘ll save you the detail but for this analogy. 

You don’t go to a festival because of the size, variance and design of the marquees. In the same way, people don’t choose a university on the merits of its buildings, soft furnishings and typical journeys. They choose it for what it offers. 

I mean offer’ in the widest sense possible. The curriculum in all its aspects – academic, extra and hidden. A campus that caters for and encourages diverse lifestyles. And an attractive program that, like a festival, makes space for the unexpected as much as for the expected. 

ENJOYING OUR CAMPUS YOUR WAY

Imagine a campus program as a giant what’s-on’ entity that covers everything. Fixed daily, weekly, and monthly timetables, one-off events, and information about campus happenings. 

It’s there, obviously, to help map schedules. But it also fosters opportunity. Students can plan and create their own experiences, driven by their individual interests, needs and wants. 

The campus-as-program enables journeys imagined by individuals in situ – not by campus masterplanners. 

This feels much easier to say than do, I know. But forementioned nods to the festival as inspiration are more than analogous. Campuses and festivals are different beasts, one a permanent seat of learning, the other a temporary mass celebration. 

But each time I attend a festival, which lives or dies by the quality of its program, I’m reminded of what campus designers can learn from festival makers. They’re far more advanced when it comes to creating the sort of experiences that future campuses will need to succeed.

LESSONS FROM THE FESTIVAL FIELD

The Good Life Experience festival is the brainchild of Cerys Matthews and Charlie Gladstone. It lasts three days, and is, they say, a weekend of fun and discovery’. Its totems of experience are music, food, books, ideas, workshops’ all enjoyed in the great outdoors.’ 

And it is what it says on the tin. The program is the printed result of a year’s worth of judicious curiosity-building conversation. Festival-goers first meet a giant physical departures-like board – the program. It repeats the line-up, activities and stuff as seen online, but it also signifies a gateway to another, altogether special, world. 

Over the next three days, the program is our experience map and guide, connecting us to the expected and the unexpected. The attractions serve as impromptu meeting places, and the experiences we’ve signed up to structure our custom journey of fun and discovery. We join in dances, roar in crowds, and make bows and arrows. By the end, we’re all collaborating, an act that’s the life and blood of the festival. 

I’m not party to the masterplanning of Matthews and Gladstone. But I’m betting my last pair of shoes that the phrases user experience’ and user journey’ have hardly ever – perhaps never – passed their lips. We can plan to attract, involve and give people a sense of belonging, but we can’t own the experiences of anyone but ourselves. Every experience is unique.

PROGRAMMING FOR AN EXCEPTIONAL EDUCATION 

Thinking about our campus of the future. Could we apply the Good Life’s elevator pitch to a program duration of three or more years, instead of three days? Change the location to the university’s city, and refresh the list of experience totems, and we’ve begun to design the campus as a festival of learning. 

This is neither a frivolous nor a bizarre recommendation. The festival of learning’ is as enjoyable as it is necessarily serious. Remember, it’s the program that informs everything.

For the future campus to be the attractive, vibrant and high performing place we all want it to be, it must start with the most inspirational of programs.

The campus must offer opportunities that invite curiosity, enable connection and encourage collaboration. Opportunities to cross-pollinate and design your own syllabus. To attend lectures, seminars and workshops across the campus. To enjoy spaces to eat, shop, socialise, and play. To interact with academics, fellow students and people from all walks of life, and also with the world of work. And to do all this on campus, in many places and many ways.

So, a call to action for the future campus: get the program right! Do this and we have a master plan for the experiences of the very people who will, in turn and in return, create for, do well in, and remember the university. And their higher education will be exactly what it’s kicked up to be: a wonderful, life changing experience, and a success by any metric.

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more.