Expertise / Public Realm

Public Realm

A vibrant, healthy and connected public realm offers great spaces for collective experiences 

Quality parks, squares and open green spaces, linked by streets, cycle paths and laneways all contribute to the character and liveability of a place. These green spaces cool urban environments, improve air and water quality, mitigate flooding and support biodiversity – providing sanctuary for people and sustaining urban ecosystems.

HASSELL unlocks the potential of public spaces for the people that use and enjoy them. We tease out the story of each site, undertaking detailed research and analysis to identify its distinctive qualities and development opportunities. This knowledge guides our design response and the site’s evolution as an authentic, engaging and enduring public place.

We strive to deliver dynamic, contextual and well-integrated public landscapes that address sustainable design challenges. Our multidisciplinary teams work seamlessly to ensure a symbiosis of natural and built elements; and we are particularly proud to have made many innovative contributions to green infrastructure and the rehabilitation of natural ecologies on post-industrial sites.

Our shared and strategic approach to the public realm – collaborating with clients, community and stakeholders – maximises our ability to create a more inclusive and sustainable urban future. 

Insights

Reinventing our cities_YouTube

Video

Reinventing our cities Watch video
Burnley Living Roofs

Video

Burnley Living Roofs Watch video
Huangpu East Bank Urban Forest_YouTube

Video

Huangpu East Bank Urban Forest Watch video
TheImmersery_YouTube

Video

The Immersery: Melbourne Food and Wine Festival Kitchen, Bar and Raingarden Watch video
PLAY[ground] by HASSELL_YouTube

Video

PLAY[ground] by HASSELL Watch video
City Making - The Brookfield Place Story_YouTube

Video

City making - the Brookfield Place story Watch video

Featured projects

Transforming Darling Harbour

Transforming Darling Harbour

View project
Huangpu East Bank Urban Forest

Huangpu East Bank Urban Forest

View project
Afghan Bazaar Cultural Precinct

Afghan Bazaar Cultural Precinct

View project
Nanjing Tangshan Geopark Museum Landscape Architecture

Nanjing Tangshan Geopark Museum Landscape Architecture

View project
Rundle Mall Redevelopment

Rundle Mall Redevelopment

View project
Darwin Waterfront Public Domain

Darwin Waterfront Public Domain

View project
Archikidz PLAY[ground]

Archikidz PLAY[ground]

View project
Wesley Quarter

Wesley Quarter

View project
Millennium Parklands

Millennium Parklands

View project
Cronton Colliery

Cronton Colliery

View project
Tai Po Waterfront Park

Tai Po Waterfront Park

View project
Brookfield Place

Brookfield Place

View project
Nanjing Niushoushan Cultural Park

Nanjing Niushoushan Cultural Park

View project
Burnley Living Roofs

Burnley Living Roofs

View project
Palm Island

Palm Island

View project
Seunsangga Citywalk Design Competition

Seunsangga Citywalk Design Competition

View project
Victoria Park Public Domain

Victoria Park Public Domain

View project
Croydon South End High Street

Croydon South End High Street

View project
Coal Loader

Coal Loader

View project

People

Anthony Brookfield

Anthony Brookfield

Perth
abrookfield@hassellstudio.com
+61 8 6477 6177

Angus Bruce

Angus Bruce

Sydney
abruce@hassellstudio.com
+61 411 555 563

Julieanne Boustead

Julieanne Boustead

Sydney
jboustead@hassellstudio.com
+61 437 793 247

Craig Guthrie

Craig Guthrie

Melbourne
cguthrie@hassellstudio.com
+61 3 8102 3020

Mark Haycox

Mark Haycox

Melbourne
mhaycox@hassellstudio.com
+61 407 120 052

Matthew Mackay

Matthew Mackay

Melbourne
mmackay@hassellstudio.com
+ 61 3 8102 3083

Jon Hazelwood

Jon Hazelwood

Sydney
jhazelwood@hassellstudio.com
+61 428 738612

Andrew Wilkinson

Andrew Wilkinson
威安仲

Shanghai
awilkinson@hassellstudio.com
+8621 5467 9333

Richard Mullane

Richard Mullane

Shanghai
rmullane@hassellstudio.com
+86 186 1684 9940

Nicholas Pearson

Nicholas Pearson

Adelaide
npearson@hassellstudio.com
+61 433 291 561

Dominic Powell

Dominic Powell

Brisbane
dpowell@hassellstudio.com
+61 7 3914 4146

Sharon Wright

Sharon Wright

Sydney
swright@hassellstudio.com
+61 2 9101 2077

Public Realm project list

+ Click to view list